Two ladies, three nights, a dozen or so horses, a bit of bartering, no sense of direction and a couple of camels…you might be close to imagining the fun we had in Marrakech

I have just returned from a three night city break in Marrakech, I might add it is the first time I have been away without my son, and I was both excited and nervous at the same time. Marrakech is a city of contradictions, the donkey and cart uses the roundabout with the same gutso and authority as the brand new white Range Rover sport that is sat beside it. The ladies go about their daily business dressed either in the full hijab or western clothes with their hair flowing down their backs.

It has often been said that woman can not travel light, and I for one would fall in to the category of packing things “just in case”. So it was as much to my surprise and it was to Di’s that when I opened by “hand luggage only” suitcase, I found in there 9 pairs of knickers, two vests, a jumper, a pair of linen trousers and my pyjamas! I am sure I meant to pack more, In fact I remember ironing more, (well more clothes and less knickers) I must have got distracted somewhere along the way.

Our days are spent exploring all the different parts of both the old and the new city, hopping on and off buses and traveling by horse and cart. We spent time bartering for goods that we did not want at a price we believed was a bargain and had no thought as to how we would get them in our suitcases on the way home. But this is all part of the experience of Marrakech. I can not read a map and have no sense of direction, Di can do both and we still got lost; that too is all part of Marrakech, the roads and narrow alley ways all look the same, and a couple of left turns and Di and I have found ourselves in the middle of a residential area completely lost.

Once the Souks and busy market square became too much we did the two things that immediately relaxed, rejuvinated and refreshed us. Firstly we headed to La Mamounia Hotel for a coffee, yes it is expensive, but for an hour of pure pleasure it is completely worth it. Secondly we had a hammam. WOW, my skin as never felt so soft and smooth and my my body has never been so relaxed. I would go back tomorrow to Marrakech just for another hammam. We opted for Les Secrets de Marrakech and had the full works. Amazing

As ever I still have questions;  my thighs are still hurting from the camel ride, is this normal? Does anyone actually eat the snails that are sold in the market? and finally and maybe most importantly has anyone ever been on holiday and not seen a “lookie lookie man”?

I loved my time in Morocco, I loved spending time without my husband and son. I loved sitting in a roof top cafe sipping Moroccan mint tea for hours on end without having to worry about Noah. I loved that Di and I loved our time together, so much that we are planning another city break next year. More than anything though, I loved that I missed both my husband and son!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Seven Wild And Free

Vegan, Ultra Running, Single Momma to 6 Amazing Littles! Adventuring is what we do!

Sunshine & Daisies

Live, Laugh, Love

IT IS ONLY THE BEGINNING

This WordPress.com site like all journeys started with the first three steps

mariebrunoblog

Writing About Addiction, Treatment & Recovery

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

Writing for God's glory.

Thoughts pretty much on everything, but every time connected to the Author of Life.A topnotch WordPress.com site

Mike's Film Talk

Entertainment: Film, Television, Books

Blogging mummy

Busy Mummy with a beautiful little boy

A.J. Viola's Blog

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

writermummy

Writing, Parenting, Cake

Missiome

a blog by Martin Thompson

dorkymum

parenting, photography, politics... and anything else that takes my fancy

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Brain-Dead Mom

Returning to the land of the living one conversation topic at a time.

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

New Here

This WordPress.com site like all journeys started with the first three steps

